Alumni honored for achievements


Four NMU alumni are being recognized for their achievements as part of this weekend’s homecoming activities.

Being honored are Heather Albrecht (Outstanding Young Alumni Award), Mike Ross (Alumni Achievement Award), Larry Inman and Duane Vandenbusche (Distinguished Alumni Awards).

“These alumni are all outstanding examples of the graduates that NMU produces,” said Martha Haynes, executive director of the Alumni Association.

The alumni being honored with the award are first nominated by a fellow alumni. Then an Alumni Association Board committee looks into the candidates and decides if they meet the criteria that the alumni association has created for the awards.

Albrecht is vice president of non-profit services for RuffaloCODY. RuffaloCODY is the nation’s largest higher eduction fundraising consulting and software development company. Albrecht is a former associate director of the NMU annual fund.

Ross is the director of bands at Appleton West High School. His high school bands have been invited to perform at the Wisconsin State Music Convention, as well as concert tours in Italy, Germany, France, England and Greece. Ross has also served as the conductor of the Green Bay Youth Symphony and principal timpianist for the Green Bay Symphony Orchestra.

Inman is a Traverse County Commissioner and a former vice president of Huntington National Bank. Inman has served as a member of the NMU board of trustees. He also holds positions on a number of state and local boards, including the State of Michigan Community Corrections Board.

Vandenbusche is a history professor at Western State College of Colorado. He also served as a cross country coach and track coach at WSCC for 37 years. During his tenure with WSCC, he coached 10 NCAA championship teams and was named the national Cross Country Coach of the Year seven times.

Haynes said the awards are a way for Northern to recognize and congratulate alumni.

“It’s a great way to showcase some of our alumni who are doing exciting things,” she said.

The awards will be presented at the Alumni Association Homecoming Brunch on Saturday, Oct. 4 in the University Center.