The Student News Site of Northern Michigan University

The North Wind

The North Wind

The North Wind

Meet the Staff
The North Wind Editorial Sessions
About us

The North Wind is an independent student publication serving the Northern Michigan University community. It is partially funded by the Student Activity Fee. The North Wind digital paper is published daily during the fall and winter semesters except on university holidays and during exam weeks. The North Wind Board of Directors is composed of representatives of the student body, faculty, administration and area media.

Photo courtesy of Grace Lipostad
Students encouraged to make sustainable products with EcoReps
Amelia KashianFebruary 22, 2024

NMU Sports Hall of Fame to induct seven new members in class of 2007

This Friday, Oct. 5, seven former standout Northern athletes and coaches will be enshrined eternally in the NMU Sports Hall of Fame.

Included in this year’s hall of fame class are former hockey players Jim Hiller (1989-1992) and Bill Pye (1987-1991), former football players Dennis Porter (1964-1967) and Tom Bertoldi (1980-1983), volleyball player Jun Liu (1993-1996), swimmer Kendall Shorkey (1971-1974) and former swim coach Anne Goodman James (1986-1996).

“It’s a huge honor,” Goodman James said. “Northern Michigan really is a very special place for me. I came up there thinking it would be a temporary position and I was treated so well and the team was treated so well I ended up staying for 10 years.”

During her tenure as head swim and dive coach the team placed fifth or higher at the NCAA championships nine times, including a program-best second place finish in 1992.

Story continues below advertisement

During her career she coached 27 NCAA champions and three NCAA Swimmers of the Year.

In addition to her duties as head swim coach Goodman James also served as NMU’s assistant athletic director from 1991-1996.

Goodman James was named the NCAA D-II Coach of the Year in 1989 and 1991; she won the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletics Conference Coach of the Year award in 1990, 1991 and 1992. Currently,, she is the head men and women’s swim coach at Colorado College.

“I’m really honored by being chosen by the selection committee,” Goodman James said. “But what honors me more is all of my former swimmers who have called me to congratulate me and tell me they were coming up for the ceremony.”

Another NMU swimming representative being honored is Kendall Shorkey, who swam at NMU from 1970-1974. During his time with the ‘Cats swim team Shorkey was a 13-time All-American and was voted team MVP twice. An NCAA swimmer can become an All-American in each event that they swim.

Shorkey holds school records for three separate events, the 200 yard butterfly, 200 yard individual medley, and 400 yard individual medley.

Another notable alumnus being inducted into the sports hall of fame is former quarterback and two-time All-American Tom Bertoldi.

Bertoldi played on the ‘Cats football team from 1980-1983 and graduated from Northern holding the majority of passing records.

Bertoldi’s 24-year-old career touchdown record (45) is poised to be broken this season by current senior quarterback Buddy Rivera.

Rivera currently has 42 touchdown passes in his career at Northern.

Bertoldi also holds NMU records for passing yards (7,330), total offensive yards (6,807) passing attempts (987) and longest passing play from scrimmage (92 yards).

After his career at NMU, Bertoldi was drafted in the eighth round of the now-defunct United States Football League by the New Jersey Generals.

Also representing the gridiron in this year’s hall of fame class is Dennis Porter, a former defensive end and offensive tackle. In 1967 Porter served as co-captain and helped lead the ‘Cats to an undefeated season and an National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics playoff birth.

Porter was drafted by the Green Bay Packers in the 12th round of the 1968 NFL draft.

The induction ceremony and dinner will take place at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 5, in the Great Lakes Rooms of the University Center. Tickets for the dinner are $20 for adults and $12 for students and can be purchased at the Superior Dome box office. The new hall of fame inductees will also be presented at halftime of the NMU football game on Saturday, Oct. 6.

More to Discover