NMU icers earn post-season accolades

NW Staff

Over the past week, four NMU hockey players were honored with CCHA post-season honors. Mark Olver, Erik Gustafsson, Nick Sirota and Billy Smith all picked up laurels.

Olver, a forward, and Gustafsson, a defenseman, were named to the All-CCHA Rookie Team. Bowling Green University was the only other school to have two players named to the rookie team.

Olver is currently tied for the overall goal lead with 18, and leads the team in total points, with 35. He led all CCHA rookies with 13 goals in conference play.

Gustafsson finished tied for ninth among all rookies and first among all rookie defenseman with 17 points. He also currently leads NMU with 26 assists on the season.

Sirota, a junior, earned all conference honorable mention. He is currently tied with Olver at 18 goals. Sirota also has the second-most assists and points with 16 and 34, respectively.

Smith, a sophomore transfer, has been designated as NMU’s 2007-2008 scholar athlete. All nominees of the award require a 3.25 cumulative GPA.

– North Wind Sports Desk