The Student News Site of Northern Michigan University

The North Wind

The North Wind

The North Wind

Meet the Staff
Megan Poe
Opinion Editor

My name is Megan Poe and I’m an English (writing concentration) and Philosophy double major at Northern. My concurrent experience with being published in and interning for literary magazines has landed...

The North Wind Editorial Sessions
About us

The North Wind is an independent student publication serving the Northern Michigan University community. It is partially funded by the Student Activity Fee. The North Wind digital paper is published daily during the fall and winter semesters except on university holidays and during exam weeks. The North Wind Board of Directors is composed of representatives of the student body, faculty, administration and area media.

Students protest against Israel-Hamas war with campus encampment
Students protest against Israel-Hamas war with campus encampment
Dallas WiertellaApril 30, 2024

ASNMU Update: Three students selected to participate in referendum committee

At Tuesday night’s Associated Students of NMU meeting, the board discussed retention rates and approved three students to the referendum committee.

In other news, secretary Michael Carroll selected three students to participate in the referendum committee. Matt Brooker, Hannah Van Kleef and Lucy Hough are the students that were approved by the members of ASNMU.

The referendum committee is responsible for reviewing proposals and criteria for student organizations that ask for more money from the Student Activity Fee.

Last spring, Dr. Wong requested a campus wellness committee be created on campus. Chair of Assembly Dani Thoune, who is also a member of the wellness committee, plans on meeting with Lenny Shible, health promotion specialist; Robin Rahoi, register dietarian at the Marketplace; and Brian Gaudreau, associate director of programming for intercollegiate and recreational sports.

Story continues below advertisement

The committee is currently researching what changes could be made to make NMU healthier for students. Dr. Wong also held a meeting to gather ideas and proposals for making campus healthier.

Abby Roche, professional studies representative, and Troy Morris, arts and sciences representative, discussed their meeting with Paul Duby, associate vice-president of institutional research, about the numbers of incoming freshmen.

According to Roche, their interest started when Chris Hoffman told the committee more freshmen had been admitted to NMU this year than any in its history.

“Troy and I thought, ‘If more freshmen have been admitted, what does that mean? Does it mean the application is too easy?’ We came up with all these ideas and made up a list of questions,” Roche said.

ASNMU president Justin Brugman was approved as Elections Committee Chairman, meaning he will not be able to run for any positions on ASNMU next year.

More to Discover