Results are in for ASNMU election


Sophie Hillmeyer

With the highest voter turnout in four years, Cody Mayer, sophomore and economics and public administration major was elected ASNMU president along with Connor Loftus, a junior and fisheries and wildlife major, who was re-elected as vice president.

After polls closed on April 4, 912 students had voted in this year’s election, almost twice as many as last year’s election. The voter turnout number has been steadily rising since 2016, when only 208 students voted, the lowest number in over a decade.

“I am very proud of all the support,” Mayer, the newly elected ASNMU president said. “It felt great to win.”

They have already begun working on projects together, Loftus said.

“I’m excited to work with [Mayer] and keep up the progress ASNMU is making,” Loftus said. “I’m excited about the opportunity to move forward.”

Will Barnwell, a junior social studies secondary education major, was elected on-campus apartment representative.

Simon Moesch, a sophomore political science major, was elected the Woods Complex representative.

Chad Cousino, a freshman political science major, was elected Quad II representative.

Emma Tervonen, a junior social work major was elected off-campus representative.

Chloe Anderson, a senior graphic design major, was elected College of Arts and Sciences representative.

Richard Hamilton, a senior and information assurance cyber defense major was elected College of Business representative.

Meghan Flynn, a junior speech language and hearing sciences major, was elected College of Health Sciences and Professional Studies representative.